Trippy Wicked & the Cosmic Children of the Knight

Trippy Wicked & the Cosmic Children of the Knight – A rolling, thundering mass of infectious riffs, distorted gut-busting bass, tripped out vocals, relentless beats and hairy sweaty faces twisted with grins and gurns.

Trippy Wicked & the Cosmic Children of the Knight cut a groove deeper than the ocean abyss.

Playing a mix of stoner rock, doom, sludge and blues, Trippy Wicked formed in early 2006 by Chris West, Pete Holland and Paul Fryer in St Albans.

Since the formation of the band, they have released a 5 track demo CD as well as two self-released live recorded EPs; leading up to today’s release (30th October) of their first full length, studio recorded debut album Movin On (Read our review here).

The album captures everything that the band has ever stood for in their music with a 10 track, 52 minute epic musical journey of songs about living the good life, fire, growing beards, girls, aliens, loneliness, pirates, love and so much more.

Movin On is full of the sexiest, sleaziest stoner, doom, blues, whatever-the-hell-you-wanna-call-it riffs you ever heard and was recorded in June 2009 under the warm Dorset sunshine at Chuckalumba studios.

Listen to the full new album below:


The band:
Pete Holland – Guitar & Vocals
Chris West – Drums
Dicky King – Bass


During the first two years, the band wrote a huge amount of songs while performing gigs and trying to get their first demo CDs out to the public to share their music.

The first demo came in 2006 titled Make like a Rock and Roll, recorded in a home studio in St Albans with drums recorded at Farm Factory Studios, featuring 5 tracks that you can listen to and download for free below:

  1. Baboon – Free Download
  2. Crumpet – Free Download
  3. 15 Miles – Free Download
  4. Hang ‘em High – Free Download
  5. Tuballysses – Free Download


As time progressed the band had several line-up changes and in January 2008 stripped back to a two-piece band with Chris West and Pete Holland remaining.

They sat down, wrote and recorded their first self released 8 track EP, Imaginarianism, which was released 1st May 2008.

Imaginarianism was recorded live in a rehearsal studio in Watford, England and demonstrated the bands range of musical influences and interests from doom and sludge to stoner rock and light hearted rock.

  1. Hang em High
  2. Sea Shanty
  3. Evil
  4. Cosmic Rainbow
  5. Surfer
  6. Sleazy
  7. The Knight
  8. I Wanna Leave

Listen to the full album at the bands album page – – Imaginarianism

Later in 2008, the band would once again become a three piece with the addition of bassist Dicky King who previously was a member of UK doom band Olde Crone.

Not leaving time to waste, the band got straight back into making another EP, Lowering the Tone, recording live in England, the band looked to demonstrate a slower, heavier sludge and doom influence with a push towards blues in their sound.

  1. I Wanna Be
  2. Hang em High
  3. The Water Can Make Us Clean
  4. I Wanna Leave
  5. Sea Shanty
  6. Evil
  7. Because of Euph

You can listen to the album in full on the bands album page – – Lowering The Tone

Purchase Lowering The Tone

Amazon UK (MP3) / Trippy Wicked & the Cosmic Children of the Knight - Lowering the Tone UK / Trippy Wicked & the Cosmic Children of the Knight - Lowering the Tone US


Now 2009, Trippy Wicked are back again with their full length debut studio release Movin On. Remember you can listen to the full album at the top of the page – click here to go there now

Purchase Movin On

CD / Amazon UK (MP3) / Amazon US (MP3) / Trippy Wicked & the Cosmic Children of the Knight - Movin On UK / Trippy Wicked & the Cosmic Children of the Knight - Movin On US

Watch the band perform Fire from the album below:

Check the band out at the following links:

Album Review
Official Website
YouTube Channel


About ??

Michael is the owner and creator of EspyRock. He is your general all round geek; sports fan; TV show fanatic. You can find him sharing his thoughts on his personal Twitter account. Contact Michael on Twitter or via Email.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!