Children Of Bodom Reveal New Album Details and UK Tour Dates

Children Of Bodom, the Finnish five-piece led into action by guitar star Alexi Laiho, will release their new/seventh studio album on March 7th 2010 via Spinefarm Records UK.

Titled ‘Relentless, Reckless Forever’, this meticulously crafted outing – the follow-up to 2008’s ‘Blooddrunk’ – has seen the band working with an outside producer for the very first time; the man in question is famed American studio-meister Matt Hyde (Slayer, Monster Magnet), who set up shop at Petrax Studios in Finland to put the music to tape, going on to mix the results back in the US…

“We worked super hard on this album – at least for me it was pretty much no sleep and no rest for six weeks,” states Alexi. “But we were determined to make the best COB album ever, so we were willing to do whatever it took. Of course, having our producer Matt Hyde kickin’ our asses 24/7 definitely made the results even better, so as you can imagine, we’re keen to get this one out there!”

WITH ‘Blooddrunk’ having charted at 22 in the US and No. 1 in Finland, and with classic Bodom track ‘If You Want Peace… Prepare For War’ currently featuring in video game ‘Guitar Hero: Warriors Of Rock’, this new album is perfectly tee’d up to be COB’s most significant and successful release to date, with lead single/video ‘Was It Worth It?’ getting the ball rolling on February 7th 2010.

Shot guerrilla-style by director Dale Resteghini (Pink Floyd, Santana, Motley Crue), the video features a number of noted pro skaters, including the world’s No. 1 Amateur Skateboarder Tom Asta, who makes some suitably spectacular moves alongside Chris Cole, the two times Thrasher Magazine ‘Skater Of The Year’…

“The single is a total party song,” says Alexi. “It doesn’t have your typical Bodom sound, but it’s one of my favourites and heavy as hell!”

In addition to Alexi, voted ‘Best Metal Guitarist’ by the readers of Guitar World, the COB line-up is completed by Roope Latvala (guitar), Jaska Raatikainen (drums), Henkka Seppala (bass) and Janne Warman (keyboards).

Together, they will be heading out on the road in the UK and Ireland in April of next year, playing six headline shows under ‘The Ugly World Tour 2011’ banner; support comes from Amon Amaarth, Finnish warriors Ensiferum & Swedish modern metallers Machinae Supremacy, the latter pair both Spinefarm labelmates.

The full list of dates is as follows:-

April 2010:

1 – UEA, Norwich
2 – Academy 1, Manchester
3 – ABC, Glasgow
5 – Vicar Street, Dublin
7 – Rock City, Nottingham
8 – Academy, Birmingham
9 – Forum, London


About ??

Michael is the owner and creator of EspyRock. He is your general all round geek; sports fan; TV show fanatic. You can find him sharing his thoughts on his personal Twitter account. Contact Michael on Twitter or via Email.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!