Coheed And Cambria reveal The Afterman: Ascension track listing

Coheed And Cambria have released the track listing and artwork for their new album, ‘The Afterman: Ascension.’ ‘The Afterman: Ascension’ is the first volume of two as part of the band’s new ‘The Afterman’ concept albums and will be released on the 8th October and volume two, ‘The Afterman: Descension,’ will follow in February 2013.

The band will be releasing a new music video for ‘Domino The Destitute’ tomorrow in support of the release for the album. You can view the trailer for the video below.

Track listing:
1. The Hollow
2. Key Entity Extraction I: Domino The Destitute
3. The Afterman
4. Mothers Of Men
5. Goodnight, Fair Lady
6. Key Entity Extraction II: Hollywood The Cracked
7. Key Entity Extraction III: Vic The Butcher
8. Key Entity Extraction IV: Evagria The Faithful
9. Subtraction

Coheed And Cambria The Afterman Ascension Artwork

The band have released a trailer, a 90-second black and white classic film-noir style short, from director Robert Schober, depicts a cosmonaut preparing to leave his spaceship for a journey into a mysterious unknown; over an instrumental Coheed And Cambria musical bed.

A deluxe version of the ‘Afterman’ will include a hardcover coffee-table book with expansive art by Heidi Taillefer and Nathan Spoor with collaborative written work from singer/creator Claudio Sanchez and writer Peter David that will create a song by song experience. David previously worked with Sanchez on the prose novel adaptation of the band’s 2010 album ‘Year Of The Black Rainbow,’ and the graphic novel adaptation of their 2003 album ‘In Keeping Secrets Of Silent Earth: 3.’ ll the band’s titles, including ‘The Afterman,’ fall into a grand sci-fi story arc called ‘The Amory Wars.’ It was announced previously at this month’s San Diego Comic Con that The Amory Wars has been picked up by Mark Wahlberg and Stephen Levinson of Leverage Productions to be developed into a live-action feature film.

The dual release also marks the return of original drummer Josh Eppard, who the band parted ways with in 2006, bringing with him his benchmark percussive grooves. Coheed and Cambria self-financed and co-produced ‘Afterman,’ alongside Michael Birnbaum and Chris Bittner, who produced the band’s first 3 albums, in Woodstock, NY. ‘Afterman’ was mixed by Rich Costey (Muse, The Shins, Foster the People) and Ryan Williams (30 Seconds To Mars).

“This is without a doubt, the most honest record I’ve ever written,” says Sanchez. “Though all the songs can be interpreted through our main character in the story, they were initially written in a very spontaneous manner.” “In the past,” he continues, “I’ve always had a predetermined idea of what the story was going to be when I approached the songs. With ‘The Afterman’ being a new story within the (Amory Wars) arc, I allowed the events of my life to drive the concept, and therefore opened up the songwriting to a fuller degree.”

UK tour dates:

8th – London – Koko
9th – Glasgow – ABC
11th – Birmingham – Academy
12th – Manchester – Ritz Ballroom


About ??

Michael is the owner and creator of EspyRock. He is your general all round geek; sports fan; TV show fanatic. You can find him sharing his thoughts on his personal Twitter account. Contact Michael on Twitter or via Email.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!