Dew-Scented release new song and reveal Icarus track listing

Dew-Scented have released a new song titled ‘Sworn To Obey’ from their upcoming album ‘Icarus.’ Cocalist Leif Jensen comments about ‘Sworn To Obey:’ “‘Sworn To Obey’ was an obvious candidate to open up the new album and it was actually one of the very last tracks we finished in the songwriting sessions for ‘Icarus’. Already when working on the final arrangements for the song, we knew it would become an extremely heavy and catchy piece! Kicking in after the anthem-like ‘Hubris’ instrumental intro, ‘Sworn To Obey’ is a sweet punch in the gut in true Dew-Scented style and smoothly helps to set the album’s pace in the right fashion! I simply love the lead-guitar part and the crazy bass-lines afterwards. I’m sure this one will be real fun to play live.”

Recently Leif Jensen also revealed the band’s new line-up with the following statement:

“I’m proud to present a new chapter in the history of Dew-Scented! By early 2011, after four weeks of European touring with Nile, it showed clearly that our previous ‘Invocation’ lineup was collapsing, and one member after another left the fold for different reasons. We decided to play some final festival shows together in the summer, and after Party.San and Brutal Assault, Dew-Scented went away from the spotlight in order to re-group and regain new focus. And here we finally are again, back with an improved lineup and a really strong new album!”

The new line-up reintroduces Marvin Vriesde (Severe Torture, ex-Blo Torch) as the lead guitarist as well as the key songwriter. Vriesde has been involved with Dew-Scented — whether as a live session guitarist as well as a studio guitarist – since the band’s first major tour in 1996. “I’m truly happy to have finally managed to team up with my buddy Marvin in Dew-Scented,” Jensen says. “Being one of my closest friends in music and the band’s ‘longest running companion,’ it’s amazing to be able to finally put the band’s musical present and future in his hands. I can’t wait for everyone to hear the great results we achieved!”

Vriesde commented: “Dew-Scented and I have a long history together. I helped the band out on several occasions in the past — studio as well as live situations — so when Leif suggested joining forces for real on the new record, I was thrilled! This allowed me to write Dew-Scented songs that I would really want to hear from the band, from a fan’s point of view.”

Completing the line-up are drummer Koen Herfst (I Chaos, Epica), bassist Joost van der Graaf (I Chaos, ex-Creepmime) and guitarist Rory Hansen. According to Vriesde, “The writing process went really smooth and focused. Leif and I were bouncing all these awesome ideas around. We realized that these songs deserved to be recorded in the best form possible. That’s why I asked a good local friend of mine, Koen, to handle the drums. In turn, he brought in Joost to handle the bass duties for the album. Both are amazing musicians, and that’s what sets ‘Icarus’ apart for me. I think everyone brought something extra to the table, which really took the album to a higher level. ‘Icarus’ is a really heavy album, but it somehow has a darker feel to it in comparison to the previous Dew-Scented albums.”

Track listing:
01. Hubris
02. Sworn to Obey
03. Thrown to the Lions
04. Storm Within
05. Gleaming Like Silver
06. By My Own Hand
07. The Fall of Man
08. Reawakening
09. Destined to Collapse
10. A Final Procession
11. Perpetuated
12. In Dying Mode (bonus track)
13. Steady Decline (PRONG-cover/bonus track)
14. No Spiritual Surrender (INSIDE OUT-cover/bonus track)

Dew-Scented Icarus Artwork


About ??

Michael is the owner and creator of EspyRock. He is your general all round geek; sports fan; TV show fanatic. You can find him sharing his thoughts on his personal Twitter account. Contact Michael on Twitter or via Email.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!