Down announce The Purple EP, new song Witchtripper streaming

Down have announced that they will release ‘Down IV Part I – The Purple EP, their first body of new material in five years, on the 18th September via Down Records/Independent Label Group.

The six-song EP, the first in a series of four EP’s planned for release over the next year, was self-produced and recorded at Nodfertu’s Lair, located at Anselmo’s New Orleans home. “I do believe that we have delivered a record that will be accepted and hopefully enjoyed by the Down horde – if you will,” says Anselmo. “If you’re looking for a Down record, it’s very pure and real.”

“Down gives me the platform to be poetic and paint imagery with lyrics,” says Anselmo. “That’s the approach I took. They complement the music and create an ominous feeling. Ultimately, when people consume the words, it’s always their interpretation that matters. I could be image-conscious though when I wrote. It’s not so gut level or street. The darker shit is some of my favourite.”

‘Witchertripper,’ the first song to be released from the EP, can be streamed below.

Track listing:
1. Levitation
2. Witchtripper
3. Open Coffins
4. The Curse Is A Lie
5. This Work Is Timeless
6. Misfortune Teller

Down IV Part I - The Purple EP Artwork


About ??

Michael is the owner and creator of EspyRock. He is your general all round geek; sports fan; TV show fanatic. You can find him sharing his thoughts on his personal Twitter account. Contact Michael on Twitter or via Email.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!