Judas Priest Announce The Chosen Few Curated Album

Sony Music are proud to announce the release of a unique Judas Priest album. ‘The Chosen Few’ is an album curated by Judas Priest’s contemporaries in the music world – each artist picking their own favourite Priest track and explaining why it is special to them. Included are legends such as Ozzy Osbourne, James Hetfield, Alice Cooper, Joe Elliott, Slash, Lemmy, Kerry King and Corey Taylor. All build an album from the very best of Judas Priest – from 1977’s “Diamonds And Rust” through to 1990’s “Painkiller”. A selection of excerpts are below;

Lars Ulrich, Metallica – Beyond The Realms Of Death: “The blueprint for the epic rock ballad. Copied thousands of times, never eclipsed.”

Ozzy Osbourne – The Ripper: “This has always been one of my favorite Judas Priest songs…. I just want to know what the fuck that note is that Rob Halford hits in the beginning of the song. Fucking hell!! That note is probably just below what only dogs can hear.”

Alice Cooper – Living After Midnight: “For a metal band, Priest has always used tons of melody… when you have a singer as great as Rob Halford, you have to write great riffs WITH great melodies, you can’t just have riffs. Living After Midnight is the perfect example…”

Slash – Screaming For Vengeance: “Judas Priest have put out their fair share of great albums to be sure. But my all-time favourite is Screaming For Vengeance. It was and still is, one of the best metal records ever produced and the title track is in my humble opinion, still ahead of its time.”

Corey Taylor, Slipnot – You’ve Got Another Thing Coming: “Judas Priest: the blueprint for the ultimate heavy metal band…..”

The Chosen Few tracklisting is as follows;

1) Diamonds And Rust (1977) – chosen by Joe Elliott (Def Leppard)

2) Dissident Aggressor (1977) – chosen by Steve Vai
3) Exciter (1978) – chosen by Accept
4) Beyond The Realms Of Death (1978) – chosen by Lars Ulrich (Metallica)
5) Delivering The Goods (1979) – chosen by Kerry King (Slayer)
6) The Green Manalishi (with the Two-Pronged Crown) (1979) – chosen by David Coverdale (Whitesnake) & Randy Blythe (Lamb of God)
7) The Ripper (1979) – chosen by Ozzy Osbourne
8) Victim Of Changes (1979) – chosen by James Hetfield (Metalliica)
9) Breaking The Law (1980) – chosen by Lemmy (Motorhead)
10) Rapid Fire (1980) – chosen by Vinnie Paul (Pantera & Hell Yeah)
11) Grinder (1980) – chosen by Zakk Wylde (Black Label Society)
12) Living After Midnight (1980) – chosen by Alice Cooper & Geezer Butler (Black Sabbath)
13) Screaming For Vengeance (1982) – chosen by Slash (Guns n Roses)
14) You’ve Got Another Thing Coming (1982) – chosen by Klaus Meine (Scorpions) & Corey Taylor (Slipknot)
15) The Sentinel (1984) – chosen by Chris Jericho
16) Turbo Lover (1986) – chosen by Jonathan Davis (Korn)
17) Painkiller (1990) – chosen by Joe Satriani

The Chosen Few is released through Sony Music on the 10th October 2011.

The band will also release, for the first time ever, their complete UK CBS/Columbia singles on 10th October also.

Single Cuts is testament to Priest’s enduring influence and through the singles, tells the story of one of the biggest metal band of all time. Few heavy metal bands have managed to scale the heights that Judas Priest has during their 40 year career. Responsible for not only issuing some of metal’s all-time classic albums (‘British Steel,’ ‘Screaming for Vengeance,’ and ‘Painkiller’) and anthems (“Breaking the Law” and “Living After Midnight,” and “You’ve Got Another Thing Coming”), the group has been one of the leading arena rock acts for decades. Judas Priest have sold over 30 million albums worldwide.

Single Cuts presents some of the best loved Judas Priest songs of all time – legendary metal tracks such as Dissident Aggressor, Living After Midnight, United, Breaking The Law, Turbo Lover and Painkiller. A CD collection presented in a deluxe, numbered box, Single Cuts boasts the complete UK CBS/Columbia singles from 1977-2008 – featuring all the 7″ singles 1977-2008 in addition to 12”b-sides. The boxset will carry original 7” vinyl sleeve artwork and replica CDs and a 32 page booklet with sleeve notes written by Geoff Barton, featuring rare photos and memorabilia.

Fans can order their Single Cuts box set from www.judaspriest.com

2011 saw Judas Priest just debut their new guitarist, Richie Faulkner, on ‘American Idol’! Ripping through a medley that included kick ass renditions of two ‘British Steel’ classics (“Living After Midnight” and “Breaking the Law”).

Track Listing

Diamonds and Rust
Dissident Aggressor

Better By You, Better Than Me

Evening Star

Before The Dawn
Rock Forever

Take On The World
Starbreaker (Live)
White Heat Red Hot (Live)

Evening Star
Beyond The Realms Of Death
The Green Manalishi

Living After Midnight
Delivering The Goods (Live)
Evil Fantasies (Live)

Breaking The Law
Metal Gods


Don’t Go
Solar Angels

Hot Rockin’ 3:03
Breaking The Law (Live)
You Don’t Have to Be Old To Be Wise

You’ve Got Another Thing Coming
Exciter (Live)

(Take These) Chains
Judas Priest Audio File

Freewheel Burning
reaking The Law (Live)
You’ve got Another Thing Coming

Some Heads Are Gonna Roll
The Green Manalishi (With The Two-Pronged Crown)

Turbo Lover
Hot For Love

Locked In
Desert Plains (Live)
Freewheel Burning (Live)

Better By You, Better Than Me

A Touch Of Evil
Between The Hammer And The Anvil
You’ve Got Another Thing Coming (Live)

Night Crawler
Breaking The Law (Live)
Living After Midnight (Live)


About ??

Michael is the owner and creator of EspyRock. He is your general all round geek; sports fan; TV show fanatic. You can find him sharing his thoughts on his personal Twitter account. Contact Michael on Twitter or via Email.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!