Killing Joke to release In Excelsis EP on 21st June

Killing Joke will have an EP of brand new material released on June 21st 2010 via Spinefarm Records UK.

Titled the ‘In Excelsis’ EP, the record will be exclusively available as a double coloured vinyl 10” from online UK retailer What Records (; a CD version of the EP – complete with bonus dub Remix – will also be included with the package, and there will be a separate digital format, too. If purchased via iTunes, the latter will come complete with a short protest film titled ‘Urban Primitive’, filmed by KJ bassist Youth back in 2004 and showing the award-winning producer as he creates a spontaneous work of art somewhere in London’s Chelsea area, on the banks of the Thames. The soundbed to the film will be a Remix of a new KJ track by Justin Broadrick from Godflesh.
The full list of tracks spread across the formats is as follows:-

1. In Excelsis
2. Endgame
3. Kali Yuga
4. Ghost Of Ladbroke Grove
5. Ghost Of Ladbroke Grove (Dub Remix by Clive Goddard)  (bonus CD track)

all of these songs are taken from the sessions for the forthcoming KJ album ‘XIII: Feast Of Fools’, but it has yet to be decided whether they will feature in the final track-listing.

‘XIII: Feast Of Fools’ has been produced by the band & Youth and engineered/ mixed by Clive Goddard at studios in London, Prague and Spain; Clive Goddard has worked with Youth on a number of high-profile projects.

‘XIII: Feast Of Fools’ marks the 30th Anniversary for Killing Joke, and is the first time the original line-up has worked together in 28 years.

UK shows are lined up for October 2010:

15th – Picture House, Edinburgh
16th – Hammersmith Apollo, London


About Abhijeet Ahluwalia

Abhijeet Ahluwalia – I’m a freelance journalist who goes back and forth between London and Bombay. A huge metalhead, but I have an eclectic taste, from reggae to punk. Oh, and Manchester United are the greatest team in the world. Follow me on Twitter or drop me a line via Email.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!