Sevendust to release deluxe reissue of gold certified self-titled debut

Sevendust has had a brutal grip on eardrums since 1997, when their debut self-titled LP hit stores via TVT Records and propelled them into the spotlight of the metal world.  Refusing to rest on their initial success, the Atlanta quintet has stayed extremely busy since then, releasing seven more albums and touring nonstop, including slots with Metallica, Korn and Kid Rock (plus countless festival appearances).  Sevendust’s eighth album, Cold Day Memory was released on April 20th of this year, and earned the band the highest chart debut of their career, landing at #12 on the Billboard Top 200.

This June, Sevendust continue their explosive run with a Deluxe Reissue of their debut, titled Sevendust (Definitive Edition).  Produced by Jay Jay French and Mark Mendoza of Twisted Sister, the original has sold more than 700,000 copies and was certified Gold in 1999.  This digitally re-mastered reissue provides some extra muscle to all of the original hits (including “Black” and “Bitch”) and tacks on 5 bonus tracks and a DVD, which features the nationally aired TV special, “Live and Loud,” recorded at The Metro in Chicago, and additional never-before-seen live and behind the scenes footage of the band.  The bonus tracks have been culled from various releases, making the Definitive Edition a must-have for any fan.  “Breathe” was previously only available on the Strangeland film soundtrack, “Terminator (Breathe Remix)” on the MTV Celebrity Death Match soundtrack, and live renditions of “Bitch” and “Prayer” were only released on the Japanese edition of the record.  Sevendust (Definitive Edition) also includes a cover of Alice Cooper’s legendary summer anthem, “School’s Out.”

Sevendust was recorded in Atlanta during the tragic terrorist bombing of the 1996 Summer Olympic Games.  The widespread panic in Atlanta at the time fueled the band to create one of the fiercest albums to date.  Originally known as Crawlspace, the Sevendust lineup is made up of singer/frontman Lajon Witherspoon, bassist Vince Hornsby, guitarists John Connolly and Clint Lowery, and drummer Morgan Rose.

BUY Sevendust (Definitive Edition)
iTunes, Amazon

Sevendust is on tour this summer with Shinedown, Chevelle, Puddle of Mudd, and 10 Years on the Carnival of Madness Tour.

Sevendust’s Sevendust (Definitive Edition) Tracklist:

01 Black
02 Bitch
03 Terminator
04 Too Close To Hate
05 Wired
06 Prayer
07 Face
08 Speak
09 Will It Bleed
10 My Ruin
11 Born To Die
12 Breathe *Bonus Track
13 School’s Out *Bonus Track
14 Bitch (Live) *Bonus Track
15 Prayer (Live) *Bonus Track
16 Terminator (Breathe Remix) *Bonus Track

DVD Track List:

01 Live And Loud
02 Electronic Press Kit (’97)
03 Behind The Scenes & Live Footage


About Michael

Michael is the owner and creator of EspyRock. He is your general all round geek; sports fan; TV show fanatic. You can find him sharing his thoughts on his personal Twitter account. Contact Michael on Twitter or via Email.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!