The Ocean’s Robin Staps posts video comments for each song on Heliocentric

Heliocentric, the highly anticipated and incredibly daring new album from The Ocean is available in the UK on Monday April 19, 2010. To celebrate the album’s release, The Ocean’s Robin Staps has filmed short video clips that describe in detail the lyrical and musical concepts behind each song on Heliocentric. Those clips are live now on The Ocean and Metal Blade YouTube channels, as well as on

Heliocentric track listing and song comment videos by Robin Staps (click the song title for the video):

1. Shamayim (instrumental)
2. Firmament
3. The First Commandment of the Luminaries
4. Ptolemy Was Wrong
5. Metaphysics of the Hangman
6. Catharsis of a Heretic
7. Swallowed by the Earth
8. Epiphany
9. The Origin of Species
10. The Origin of God

All of the videos can be seen on

Heliocentric can be previewed via 30 second instrumental clips, available now on

The songs, art and lyrics of Heliocentric tell the story of the rise of the heliocentric world view – the idea that the earth revolves around the sun, and that the sun is stationary and at the center of the universe. Copernicus and Gallilei were the first popular ambassadors of this idea, although ancient greek astronomers like Aristarchus had already posited this theory centuries before.

The effects that this discovery had on Christian belief and occidental culture are at the base of The Ocean’s “Heliocentric” album. Throughout the course of the album, the lyrics are orbiting around an astronomic and a philosophical/religious subject, whilst always keeping an essentially personal perspective.


About Abhijeet Ahluwalia

Abhijeet Ahluwalia – I’m a freelance journalist who goes back and forth between London and Bombay. A huge metalhead, but I have an eclectic taste, from reggae to punk. Oh, and Manchester United are the greatest team in the world. Follow me on Twitter or drop me a line via Email.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!