Totimoshi To Release New Full-Length This August

California heavy desert deathrock enigmas, Totimoshi, are pleased to announce the release of their long-awaited new full-length, Avenger, later this summer. Set for release on August 16, 2011 via At A Loss Recordings, Avenger was produced by Toshi Kasai (Melvins, Shrinebuilder, Tool), mastered by John Golden (Melvins, Mike Watt, OM) and includes appearances by Dale Crover (Altamont, The Melvins, Shrinebuilder), Brent Hinds (Mastodon) and Scott Kelly (Neurosis, Shrinebuilder).

Totimoshi Avenger artwork

Avenger Track Listing:
01. Avenger
02. The Fool
03. Mainline
04. Calling All Curs
05. Rose
06. Opus
07. Leaves
08. Snag
09. Waning Divine

For the past 14 years, Totimoshi — guitarist/vocalist Antonio Aguilar and bassist/vocalist Meg Castellanos — have been pounding out its own brand of acid induced rhythmic Hendrix-meets-Dick Dale rock. Born in the high desert of Southern California just 30 minutes from the hometown of Frank Zappa and Captain Beefheart Aguilar, the band’s principle songwriter, definitely shares said composers love for adventure in music. Joined by drummer Chris Fugitt in 2008, the trio have carved out a sound all their own. A busy 2010 saw the band tour Europe with Mastodon and Eyehategod and the US with the Melvins and 2001 has already seen the band shake the west coast with Floor.

More an experience than a mere listen, Avenger moves from the title track’s progressive heaviness and stories of sadistic intent to the stops and slurs of “Mainline,” a heavy blues song gone acid frenzy. Sim’s style bass lines weave with Aguilar’s guitar style thru “Calling All Curs,” then lead the listener to absolute orgasm with “Rose,” a song quite simply about fucking. “Rose” is part Billy Gibbons, part James Gang and all Totimoshi. The album’s meticulous starts and stops carry the listener through the frenzy of “Opus” to the romanticism of “Leaves” and “Snag.” The grand finale comes at track ten with “Waning Divine,” a tune about growing old. The song starts in mellow psychedelia and ends in molten metal heaviness. Graced by Brent Hinds and Scott Kelly, this epic truly ends the album with an unforgiving bang.

Totimoshi will be pummeling the masses live, later this summer. Stay tuned for details!


About ??

Michael is the owner and creator of EspyRock. He is your general all round geek; sports fan; TV show fanatic. You can find him sharing his thoughts on his personal Twitter account. Contact Michael on Twitter or via Email.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!